Video

Google Video 

Getting Started

  1. What is Google Video?

    Google Video is a video hosting and sharing solution that enables enterprises and other organizations to use video as an effective medium for internal communication and collaboration. Built on top of the same powerful infrastructure that powers YouTube, Google Video for Google Apps for Business and Education provides a highly scalable, reliable and secure platform for uploading and viewing videos within your domain. Visit http://video.google.com/a/your_domain.com for your domain's video homepage. Be sure to replace 'your_domain.com' with your actual domain name.

  2. Watching videos

    Click play and enjoy! But there's also screen size and quality settings. Plus, you can rate videos, leave comments, and more.
    Show/hide details

  3. Uploading videos 

    It's as simple as clicking the Upload tab and locating your video.
    Show/hide details

  4. Sharing videos

    One of the great features of Google Video inside Google Apps is the ability to share videos and ownership rights with specific users at your domain. You can set the actual ownership rights to a video during the Upload stage or afterwards in video play mode. In play mode, click on the Share option to allow everyone at your domain to view the video, or enter username(s) of people at your domain as collaborators or viewers. You can also email specific users to let them know that you've shared a video with them.

  5. Editing and deleting videos

    If you have ownership or collaboration rights to a video, you can edit the metadata (title & description) associated with the video. In the video player view, click on the Edit option. Don't forget to click Save when you're finished. To delete video that you've uploaded previously, navigate to the video play view and click on the Edit option. Underneath the metadata, click on Delete Video to remove the video from Google Video. There is no undo function so if you need the video again or deleted it in error, you'll have to upload it again.

  6. Closed captions

    You can add captions to your videos. If you're an owner or collaborator of a video, you can expand the 'Closed captions' link to upload a timed text file. 
    Show/hide details

Features

  1. Owners, Collaborators and Viewers

    The owner is the person who uploaded the video. Owners can delete videos, modify title/description, see the sharing list, hide/show downloading links, change the sharing list, and delete tags submitted by others. Collaborators can do everything owners can do expect delete videos. Viewers can view the video but can't make any changes to any of the video's metadata. Viewers can also download videos if owners/collaborators show downloading links.

    All users at your domain can submit comments, video ratings, and tags. Note that comments and tags are not anonymous and that the administrator of your domain has the ability to view all videos, edit metadata, modify sharing settings, and delete videos.

  2. Embedding videos

    There are many options to promote your videos by embedding them on sites and pages.
    Show/hide details

  3. Searching Videos

    Before searching, it's important to understand that videos are ranked based on multiple criteria, such as video metadata, total views, total unique views, and ratings. You can find all videos that you've been given access to and those that have been shared with the whole domain by entering information in the Search field such as the video's title or the owner's username. You can also find videos by using the advanced operator 'owner:username' where username is the username of the person in your domain.

    In video play mode, click the owner's username to view all videos that have been uploaded by that particular user.

    Note that recent uploads and changes to metadata may take up to 60 seconds to be reflected in search results, the landing page, and the My Videos tab.

  4. How tagging works

    Anyone viewing a video has the ability to tag it. As you start typing the tag, Google Video will show an autocomplete list containing tags that have been previously recommended by the admin and tags recently used by you. Tags are not anonymous and the name of the person who submitted the tag appears as a tooltip when you hover over the tag. The tag will say 'Tag created by username'. You can delete the tags that you've submitted at any time by clicking on the X icon next to the tag. Administrators of an organization can delete any tag for any video.

  5. Sorting Options

    Sort by Relevance: Videos are sorted using Google search technology based on title, description and tags.
    Sort by Rating: Videos are sorted by the the average rating based on all ratings submitted by users.
    Sort by Total Views: Videos are sorted by the total number of views that the video has had.
    Sort by Unique Views: Videos are sorted by the total number of users who have viewed the video.
    Sort by Upload Date: Videos will be sorted by the date they were uploaded to Google Video.
    Sort by Recording date: Videos are sorted by the recording date which was set on the upload page during upload.
    Sort by Last View Date: Videos are sorted from the most recently watched video to the least recently watched.

Other Resources

To report a problem with Google Video for business, or to submit feedback, visit our known issues page or contact your domain administrator who may be able to assist you. Additionally, although Google Video inside Google Apps is not the same as YouTube or the regular version of Google Video, many of the issues that users face can often be similar. We suggest reviewing the existing resources available in the YouTube Help Center and the regular Google Video Help Center to try and resolve your issue or learn more about video formats and encoding video for uploading. Please do not submit a help request to the support teams of these products as they will not be answered.

Comments